Any and all forms of hazing are completely prohibited at BSU
Hazing is against the law in Massachusetts. Not only is it demeaning, but there have been well-publicized cases of students severely injured or killed while undergoing hazing rituals at other colleges. Bridgewater State University is committed to significant enforcement of the Massachusetts statute as well as active hazing prevention programming to make students aware of the dangerous impact on students' mental and physical health.
The term "hazing" should mean any conduct or method of initiation into any student organization, whether on public or private property, which willfully or recklessly endangers the physical or mental health of any student or other person. Such conduct may include whipping, beating, branding, forced calisthenics, exposure to the weather, forced consumption (or deprivation) of any food, liquor, beverage, drug or other substance or any other brutal treatment or forced physical activity which is likely to adversely affect the physical health or safety of any such student or other person or which subjects such student or other person to extreme mental stress, including extended deprivation of sleep or rest or extended isolation.
Bridgewater State University, through the Department of Athletics, Office of Student Involvement and Leadership, or other designated personnel, shall issue to every group or organization under its authority or operating on, or in, conjunction with its campus or school, and to every member, new member or applicant for membership in such group or organization, a copy of this policy. An officer of each such group or organization, and each individual receiving a copy of this policy, should sign an acknowledgement stating that such group, organization or individual has received a copy of the hazing policy.
Any individual who is a principal organizer or participant in the crime of hazing as defined herein shall be punished by a fine of not more than $3,000 or by imprisonment in a house of correction for not more than one year or by both such fine and imprisonment.
Any individual who knows that another person is the victim of hazing as defined above and is at the scene of such crime shall, to the extent that such person can do so without danger or peril to himself or herself, or others, report such crime to the appropriate college administrator or appropriate law enforcement official as soon as reasonably practical. Failure to report such crime shall be punished by a fine of not more than $1,000. It is crucial that any hazing is reported through related university departments or directly to the University Police.
An individual in alleged violation of the hazing policy may not use consent as a defense to any prosecution.