Search Google Appliance

Bridgewater State University - logo
SHARE PAGE:   
 

Department of Economics

The comprehensive programs in the Economics department enable students to become familiar with many aspects of the economy and develop effective economic analysis and problem-solving techniques.

Economists study the production and distribution of resources, goods and services in order to interpret and forecast market trends, design policies or make recommendations for solving economic problems, and/or advise business, governments and individuals on economic topics. In many ways, they are at the heart of modern society.

Faculty
Daniel Lomba
Associate Professor and Chairperson of Economics
Hunt Hall, Room 115
Tel:
508.531.2407
Email: dlomba@bridgew.edu
Degrees

BS, PhD, Northeastern University

Ilter Bakkal
Assistant Professor of Economics
Hunt Hall, Room 217B
Tel:
508.531.2556
Email: ibakkal@bridgew.edu
Degrees

BA, Academy of Economics and Commerce in Istanbul
MBA, University of Istanbul
MS, Florida International University
MA, PhD, Northern Illinois University

Margaret Brooks
Professor of Economics; Director, Center for Economic Education
Hunt Hall/Room 105
Tel:
508.531.2289
Email: mbrooks@bridgew.edu
Degrees

BA, MA, PhD, Brown University

Michael Jones
Associate Professor of Economics
Hunt Hall, Room 217C
Tel:
508.531.2240
Email: m3jones@bridgew.edu
Degrees

BA, MA, PhD, University of New Mexico

Quoc Tran
Assistant Professor of Economics
Hunt Hall, Room 206
Tel:
508.531.2242
Email: quoc.tran@bridgew.edu
Degrees

BA, University of Oklahoma
MS, PhD, University of Texas

Madhavi Venkatesan
Assistant Professor of Economics
Hunt Hall, Room 206
Tel:
508.531.3041
Email: madhavi.venkatesan@bridgew.edu
Emeriti Faculty
Stanley Antoniotti
Professor Emeritus of Economics
Hunt Hall, Room 113
Tel:
508.531.1716
Email: stantoniotti@yahoo.com
Anthony Cicerone
Professor Emeritus of Economics and Director (2000-2012) of Canadian Studies Council
Hunt Hall, Room 113
Tel:
508.531.1716
Email: cicerone@bridgew.edu
Ranjit Vohra
Professor Emeritus of Economics
Hunt Hall, Room 113
Tel:
508.531.1716
Email: rvohra@bridgew.edu
Part-time Faculty
Lord Andzie-Quainoo
Visiting Lecturer
Hunt Hall, Room 205
Tel:
508.531.1410
Email: Lord.AndzieQuainoo@bridgew.edu
Albert Barnor
Visiting Lecturer
Hunt Hall, Room 206
Tel:
508.531.3041
Email: albert.barnor@bridgew.edu
Kris McWhite
Visiting Lecturer
Hunt Hall, Room 206
Tel:
508.531.3041
Email: kris.mcwhite@bridgew.edu
Ahmad Saranjam
Visiting Lecturer
Hunt Hall, Room 214
Tel:
508.531.2867
Email: asaranjam@bridgew.edu
George Watson
Visiting Lecturer and Assistant Director of Center for Economic Education
Hunt Hall, Room 117
Tel:
508.531.2866
Email: g1watson@bridgew.edu
Douglas Wilson
Visiting Lecturer
Hunt Hall, Room 205
Tel:
508.531.1410
Email: douglas.wilson@bridgew.edu
Staff
Ann Reichert
Administrative Assistant I
Hunt Hall, Room 113
Tel:
508.531.1716
Email: areichert@bridgew.edu
Department Chair
Dr.
Daniel Lomba
Tel:
508.531.2407
Administrative Assistant
Ann Reichert
Tel:
508.531.1716

The department offers a BS degree as well as a minor in economics.  Our goal is to provide students with a comprehensive liberal arts foundation and the specialized economics knowledge and skills they need to succeed in their fields. We encourage research activities and direct engagement with real-world situations through internships and other hands-on activities.

Strong analysis and problem-solving skills combined with a substantive background in economic theory will prepare students to enter professions such as banking, finance, business, politics and real estate. More than half of all economists work in federal, state and local government.

Department of Economics
Hunt Hall
Room 113
508.531.1716


Related Links and Resources