Bridgewater State University - logo
SHARE PAGE:   
 

Department of Art

The mission of the Department of Art is to engage students in the exploration of their individual creative and historical art interests. Our faculty strives to create an environment that fosters a full range of diverse artistic expressions.

In addition, we are committed to providing a global understanding of art through direct experiences with artists, art works and architecture, as well as through the teaching of studio arts, art appreciation and art history.

Faculty
Rob Lorenson
Department Chairperson, Professor of Art
Art Building, Room 207
Tel:
508.531.2214
Email: rlorenson@bridgew.edu
Degrees

BFA, University of Northern Iowa
MFA, Northern Illinois University, Sculpture

Collin Asmus
Professor of Art
Art Building, Room 107
Tel:
508.531.2146
Email: casmus@bridgew.edu
Degrees

BFA, Birmingham-Southern College
MFA, Louisiana State University, Sculpture

Leigh Craven
Associate Professor of Art
Tillinghast Hall, Room 209
Tel:
508.531.1274
Email: leigh.craven@bridgew.edu

Leigh Craven earned her BFA in Printmaking from the College of Architecture, Art & Planning at Cornell University, her MFA in Printmaking from the Rhode Island School of Design, and studied bookbinding with Peter Verheyen. She currently teaches in the department of Art at Bridgewater State University in Massachusetts and has been a visiting professor at various other institutions. Her work has been exhibited widely in group and solo exhibitions, earning her numerous honors and awards. She is represented by A.I.R. Gallery in New York City.

Degrees

BFA, Cornell University
MFA, Rhode Island School of Design, Printmaking

Mary Dondero
Associate Professor of Art
Art Building, Room 205
Tel:
508.531.2765
Email: mdondero@bridgew.edu

Mary Dondero is intrigued by the way that contradictions often define who we are. When she thinks about how complex events shape and define us, she is amused.

Her plan was to become an artist. With the combination of Graphic Design, Photography and Printmaking as her focus of study, she received a BFA in Studio Art from Roger Williams University in Rhode Island. The contradiction in her academic career was that in 1980 she earned a Masters in the Arts of Teaching from Rhode Island School of Design - however, teaching Art to children was not her personal life goal.

In 2003, she earned an MFA in Photography from the University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth. As a full-time faculty member at Bridgewater State University she finds working with university students both enormously rewarding and inspiring. Through a program developed by Bridgewater, she has been teaching photography to middle school children in the summertime which has been a joyful experience but also provided another professional contradiction as her MAT from Rhode Island School of Design is now relevant.

In 2011, Professor Dondero was awarded "Artist in Resident" at Zion National Park in Utah. The park's environments include a limestone canyon that was a great river thousands of years ago and the painted desert that was once an inland sea. This residency granted secluded time and space to focus on her artwork in a place rich with geological formations reminiscent of the ocean, inspiring new visual language for her work.

Professor Dondero exhibits her work both nationally and internationally and, in 2005, she presented her photo-installation, 'Dust' at the Southeast Society of Photographic Educators Conference. Her work is held in several collections, such as the permanent collection of Naestved International Print Studio in Denmark, the Zion Human History Museum in Utah and the Wentworth-Coolidge Mansion in New Hampshire.  Her photo-ceramic installation that she created for the Wentworth-Coolidge Mansion was mentioned in the respected international publication "Ceramics, Art and Perception."

Professor Dondero's studio is located in Warren, Rhode Island, where she is one of the founding members and current President of the Executive Committee for the now ten-year-old, non-profit organization, Imago Foundation for the Arts. For the past two years she has served on the Board of Directors for the Bristol Art Museum where she is Chair of Exhibitions.

When she was young Mary's family moved from Brooklyn, New York to rural Massachusetts. Often, she finds herself yearning for life in the city. This is probably caused by the many childhood memories that she continues to embrace. Ironically, she finds herself living in the woods of Rehoboth, Massachusetts contemplating her next project.

Degrees

BFA, Roger Williams University
MAT, Rhode Island School of Design
MFA in Photography, University of Massachusetts at Dartmouth

Ivana George
Associate Professor of Art
Art Building, Room 106
Tel:
508.531.2795
Email: igeorge@bridgew.edu

Associate Professor Ivana George is an interdisciplinary artist who has created artworks in photography, installation, sound, and video. She has exhibited her work in over 50 national and international exhibitions including Harvard University, Griffin Museum of Photography, and the Danforth Museum. She holds an MFA degree from the joint program of The School of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston/Tufts University. Her work has been written about in the Boston Globe, New England's Bay Windows, the Las Vegas Sun, and Atlanta's Creative Loafing.

Professor George teaches all levels of analog and digital photography in the art department. Her areas of special interest include lighting skills for fine art and commercial photography, large format analog photography, historic analog processes and mixed media approaches to photography. In addition to teaching classes, she enjoys mentoring students through advising, internships, and undergraduate research/creative projects.

Degrees

BFA, Guilford College
MFA, Tufts University, Photography

John Hooker
Assistant Professor of Art
Art Building, Room 207
Tel:
508.531.1484
Email: john.hooker@bridgew.edu

John Hooker's professional work is primarily in the field of sculpture. His artwork has been exhibited throughout the U.S. in group and solo exhibitions. His studio interests include scale, material and culture. Professor Hooker teaches courses in studio foundations, sculpture and first-year writing. Additionally, he teaches art education, supervises student teachers and advises students interested in pursuing careers in teaching art.

Degrees

BS, Missouri State University
MFA, University of Notre Dame, Sculpture

Beatrice St. Laurent
Professor
Art Building, Room 100A
Tel:
508.531.2202
Email: bstlaurent@bridgew.edu
Degrees

BA, MA, University of Massachusetts at Amherst
MA, PhD, Harvard University, Art History

Sean H. McPherson
Assistant Professor of Art
Tillinghast Hall, Room 202
Tel:
508.531.2185
Email: Sean.H.McPherson@bridgew.edu
Mercedes Nuñez
Professor of Art
Art Building, Room 203
Tel:
508.531.2453
Email: mnunez@bridgew.edu
Degrees

BFA, University of Miami
MFA, University of Miami, Illustration

Magaly Ponce
Associate Professor of Art
Art Building, Room 206
Tel:
508.531.2451
Email: mponce@bridgew.edu
Degrees

Licenciatura en Diseno Grafico, Universidad de Valparaiso
MFA, Syracuse University, New Media

Dorothy Pulsifer
Professor of Art
Art Building, Room 200
Tel:
508.531.2181
Email: dpulsifer@bridgew.edu
Degrees

BS, MEd, University of Massachusetts, Amherst

Preston Saunders
Associate Professor of Art
Art Building, Room 201
Tel:
508.531.2179
Email: psaunders@bridgew.edu
Degrees

BFA, Shorter College
MFA, Rochester Institute of Technology, Ceramics and Sculpture

Jonathan Shirland
Assistant Professor of Art
Art Building, Room 205
Tel:
508.531.2076
Email: jonathan.shirland@bridgew.edu

Dr. Shirland received his MA and PhD in Art History from University College London. His doctoral work examined constructions of masculinity in British art c.1880-1914. Among his publications are articles in the journals Art History, Visual Culture in Britain, and Aries. He has taught at the University of York and Lasell College, and served as the curator of Public Programs at the Royal Academy of Arts, London. He is also visual arts director and lead curator for the project Violence Transformed. Current research interests include the art of Thomas Sidney Cooper; protest and resistance art in South Africa; and contemporary art in Tanzania, together with his ongoing research into James Whistler, Walter Sickert and Wyndham Lewis.

Dr. Shirland regularly teaches the classes ARTH309 Early Modern Art and Architecture; ARTH310 Art and Architecture since 1940; ARTH308 Women in the Visual Arts; ARTH207 Introduction to African Art; and ARTH299 Transforming Violence. He also leads a three-week art history study tour to Tanzania.

Degrees

BA, University of York
MA, University College London
PhD, University College London, Art History

Donald Tarallo
Associate Professor of Art
Art Building, Room 212
Tel:
508.531.2129
Email: donald.tarallo@bridgew.edu

Donald Tarallo has his BA in Studio Arts and Graphic Design from Clark University, his MFA in Graphic Design from Rhode Island School of Design, and he studied typography with Wolfgang Weingart in the "Weiterbildungsklasse" at the Basel School of Design in Switzerland. During his graduate studies at the Rhode Island School of Design he was a research assistant on the Universal Web Design Project where he helped develop web accessibility guidelines for graphic designers.

Since 1998, Don has maintained a freelance practice working on projects in identity, publication, and web design. He has worked as an art director and photographer in Oslo, Norway, and as an identity designer at Interbrand in Seoul, Korea. His passion for typography and identity design has allowed him to work on the development of the visual identities for Sotheby's, Icograda, and the Hong Kong Design Institute. Since 2003, Don has been the design consultant for Community MusicWorks in Providence, Rhode Island; one of the top fifty after school arts programs in the United States.

Don is a recipient of a Marion and Jasper Whiting Fellowship for research on the history of typography in Italy. He has received design awards by the American Institute for Graphic Arts and the Graphic Communications Industry of Rhode Island. His work and essays have been published in China, Korea, Japan, and the United States in journals such as Design Principles and Practices: An International Journal, Visual Communication Quarterly, and the Korean Design Research Institute's Good Design and Bad Design. He is a member of the International Council of Communication Design (ICOGRADA) and the Society of Typographic Aficionados (SoTA). He has taught graphic design at Clark University, Guangzhou Academy of Fine Art (China), Rhode Island School of Design, Siena Art Institute (Italy), and the Samsung Art and Design Institute (South Korea).

Degrees

BA, Clark University, Graphic Design concentration
MFA, Rhode Island School of Design, Graphic Design
Advanced graphic design studies, Basel School of Design, Switzerland

Emeriti Faculty
Roger Dunn
Professor Emeritus of Art
Art Building
Tel:
508.531.1359
Email: rdunn@bridgew.edu
Degrees

BA, BFA, Pennsylvania State University
MFA, Pratt Institute
PhD, Northwestern University, Art History

Steve Smalley
Professor Emeritus of Art
Art Building
Tel:
508.531.1359
Email: ssmalley@bridgew.edu

Stephen F. Smalley graduated from Massachusetts College of Art, State College at Boston and The Pennsylvania State University. Joining the art faculty at Bridgewater State University in 1972, he served as department chair 1972-1984 and retired from full-time teaching in 2005. As professor emeritus and visiting lecturer, he continues to offer honors art history colloquia, which often focus on topics such as graffiti, art of the tattoo, Pop art, Andy Warhol & Jackson Pollock. Other teaching positions were with the Cambridge Public Schools, Pennsylvania State University, Tyler School of Art/Temple University, Massachusetts College of Art and the American College in Paris. 

His ongoing Henry VIII series focuses on the legendary British monarch and attempts to playfully re-invent Hans Holbein's protrait of a pivotal figure in England's history. Smalley has visited London and the United Kingdom numerous times over the years, conducting art history study tours to London, and served as a faculty associate in the Bridgewater State University Program at Oxford.

Part-time Faculty
Mary Beth Alger
Email: malger@bridgew.edu
Timothy Bailey
Email: T1Bailey@bridgew.edu
Margaret Bellafiore
Email: mbellafiore@bridgew.edu
Susan Blevins
Email: susan.blevins@bridgew.edu
George Born
Email: george.born@bridgew.edu
Lori Bradley
Email: lori.bradley@bridgew.edu
Sean Cassidy
Email: sean.cassidy@bridgew.edu
Miacheal Cochran
Email: michael.cochran@bridgew.edu
Ryan Collins
Email: ryan.collins@bridgew.edu
Rosemary Esson Dawson
Email: rosemary.esson@bridgew.edu
Mark Eshbaugh
Email: mark.eshbaugh@bridgew.edu
Jonathan Glatt
Email: jonathan.glatt@bridgew.edu
Teresa Hunter
Email: teresa.hunter@bridgew.edu
Maura Huntington
Email: maura.huntington@bridgew.edu
Mark Laughlin
Email: mark.laughlin@bridgew.edu
Amity Law
Email: amity.law@bridgew.edu
Jan Lhormer
Email: jan.lhormer@bridgew.edu
Debra Marek
Email: debra.marek@bridgew.edu
Joan Mullen
Email: joan.mullen@bridgew.edu
Madeline Medeiros Ruiz
Email: madeline.ruiz@bridgew.edu
Renee Russo
Email: rrusso@bridgew.edu
Jason Travers
Email: jason.travers@bridgew.edu
Angel Tucker
Email: angelica.tucker@bridgew.edu
Dina Vincent
Email: dina.vincent@bridgew.edu
Gayle White
Email: gwhite@bridgew.edu
Staff
Kathi Brazil
Administrative Assistant I
Art Building, Room 100
Tel:
508.531.1359
Email: kathi.brazil@bridgew.edu
Linda Hall
Staff Assistant
Art Building, Room 206
Tel:
508.531.2629
Email: lhall@bridgew.edu
Department Chairperson
Rob Lorenson
Tel:
508.531.2214
Administrative Assistant
Kathi Brazil
Tel:
508.531.1359

The department offers a BA in art with seven different possible concentrations, including art history, graphic design and new media. We also offer an MA in teaching, and we serve non-art majors at Bridgewater through our extensive core curriculum offerings.

Studio enrollments are kept low to promote a sense of community and positive classroom dynamics. This encourages strong one-on-one student-teacher relationships, leading to an in-depth understanding and development of techniques, skills and individual style. The department contributes to the cultural richness and artistic vitality of our region and our state by training knowledgeable artists, art historians, teachers and other professionals.

Department of Art
Art Center
508.531.1359